May. 9th, 2019

cornerofmadness: (Default)
but worse at the same time. Today I headed into Huntington WV to the nearest mall (like 75 miles away from me) to take my laptop to the geek squad.

I stopped at Hillbilly Hot Dogs. Hey ELD you can get in easily if you don't go on a weekend. I got my two favorites, the coal miner and the Mothman dog. I ate in my usual spot, inside the school bus The girl who was making my order was a pregnant teen and bluegrass music was blaring (a tad too on the nose really) the two old guys next to me were talking about how one of them was wanted in Pomeroy (a town not all that far from me) His argument, every time he called to present himself for his three days in jail they told him they were full and after three tries, he just left. I meet all the best people.


Geek squad couldn't even get to my OS on the laptop. They threw their hands up so I took it back and went home. Okay not directly home but the upshot is, the lap top is utterly dead.

I went to Empire books who are getting a cranky chat/phone call tomorrow. For some reason they repeated a TON of comics in my pull list. I handed them back and said nope. I get home and they're in my bag. I knew I paid a crap ton today but after not picking up my books in two months and finding an Angel figure I had to have I just assumed it was right. I'm sure they won't make it right. I'm complaining any how.

I ended up with an hour to kill before the movie started. Before I hit the road I checked and they had Captain Marvel still playing and since I hadn't seen that, I went to the matinee after not finding anything in TJ Maxx or Macy's that I HAD to have. I was the ONLY person in the movie (and still managed to find a broken chair and had to move). I did enjoy the movie but didn't feel it lived up to the hype good or bad. Still, it was fun.

By then it was quarter to seven and I decided to skip going to my favorite Mexican place up the road since I didn't want to take even more time out. I hit Chili's which was right there. It's been since forever since I've been there. It turned out to be a good choice. It was buy one margarita get one free happy hour so guess who drank two blackberry ritas? Also they had honey-chipolete cripsers (chicken tenders) on waffles with ancho-sauce and more honey chipolete dipping sauce for the fries. It was SO MUCH food. I brought back half for Friday.

Picked up a new manga at Booksamillion which got me a 1$ frozen hot chocolate. Maybe because it was late maybe he was clueless but by the time I got through the mountain of whipped cream (and I was already down the road) it was less frozen hot chocolate than it was iced chocolate milk....I'm gonna pay for that later.
cornerofmadness: (Default)
Utterly. From work to going to Athens, all a waste.

Today was orientation but they don't tell us how many students until early this morning. After we get there. And the answer for biology was a terrifying zero (with one walk in). It's not so bad for me. I live close but I was only there to train the newish hire how to advise and she came 50+ miles for this. And I know this student's brothers and his dad went to the same medical school as me. He'll be great but he'll transfer to a better school before he's done just like his brothers.

I drove to Athens but that was a waste too. Yeah okay I DID find some good cheeses for the retirement party tomorrow but man, the big Kroger's got rid of it's olive/appetizer bar and that's half the reason I go there. SO disappointed.

Tim Horton's was a disappointment too except for the woman behind me LOUDLY talking about how her father was a fugitive from justice for like 18 years after he and her mom robbed a bunch of places at gunpoint when she was a kid (and she's probably my age now) and how he's still a fugitive because now he's a coyote but she doesn't care because he's getting people away from the Mexican cartels (which okay maybe I can see that point) and the kicker is she's with the god-group that always meets on Thursdays.

So that's two days in a row where people have been loudly talking about being on the run from the law in the eateries I've been in. What the actual fuck?


The only thing that wasn't a waste today was calling a new hair salon and getting an appointment in 20 minutes. My hair is cut. It probably could have been shorter in the back but it looks pretty good. I'm going to dye it tomorrow.

I'm working on my [community profile] wipbigbang it's a Buffy/Angel verse crossover. Probably going to need a beta on it. I won't have time for a beta on the original Christmas thing. It's going to have to go out rougher than I'd like it to be to make deadline, mostly because it's still not done. I'm not very happy with it either.

Profile

cornerofmadness: (Default)
cornerofmadness

March 2026

S M T W T F S
1 2 3 4 5 6 7
8 9 10 11 12 13 14
15 16 17 18 19 20 21
22 23 24 25 26 27 28
293031    

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 29th, 2026 04:49 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios