Tsubasacon

Oct. 2nd, 2016 12:00 am
cornerofmadness: (king)
[personal profile] cornerofmadness
Okay right off the bat, pictures will be another day (I didn't take too many anyhow) because a) camera won't talk to computer tonight b) tired as all hell.

I did have fun in spite of a variety of annoying things, like getting up in plenty of time and for some reason leaving nearly 2 hours later than planned. I have no idea. I fell thru a time slip, who knows? And sadly there is like nowhere to eat other than Hillbilly hot dog on the way down there and it was PACKED. I should have walked into the thai place as I was walking to the arena but I wanted to get there (and had to have a shitty giant pretzel for lunch) and the parking garage right across the street you need to get a ticket to be there all day but I could NOT figure out where you do that and I drove around 3 times. The other garage which I usually park in is two blocks away so it's not too bad.

I DO think my Shion Karanmori cosplay came off well as people recognized it and were excited to see it. It must be said that Tsu is a very small con (as in the entire dealers room could have fit along one wall at Animazement). That said they did bag a pretty big name in voice acting, Steven Blum (Spike Spiegel from Cowboy Bebop among many others).

I will say that the vendors left a bit to be desired this time but I did get some cool stuff, like another graphic novel from a lady artist that I bought from last year and found a steampunk group that's right over in Parkersburg (about an hour from Athens so two hours from me) that does events that help pay for mammograms and pap smears for at risk women below the poverty level (which is a shit ton here in Appalachia) and it’s at Blennerhasset Island! and a few others. I do know that online sales is killing the dealer's room and that's half the reason I go to these cons (I might move this to every other year like I used to attend).

I really enjoyed the greatest graphic novels you should be reading panel run by a librarian whose job it is to be the graphic novel/manga librarian of her library. WHY did I never think of doing that? How great would that be? I totally need her to be a character in a story. She runs the carolina manga library and they do take donations (if you have some old manga you want to divest yourself of).

I picked up some things from sanzaki kojika and Miss Alaynious and I didn't buy from yatta creations but I loved the dragon eggs, priced more reasonably online (instead of covering con costs)

I found one t-shirt vendor that I got a Dr. Who shirt from but really wanted the Grell one but they were sold out of my size. And I did manage to get something for ELD. I believe I now have hoarded enough to cover this christmas, her birthday and half of next year's christmas (stop, just stop now) There was one vendor I nearly bought from. She made throw pillows using an industrial embroidery machine but each one takes hours to do. And she has an in with local furniture stores and gets the left over upholsteries as the backing for these pillows. I LOVED her Snape silouette with the 'always' quote but it was leather and 75$. I thought about getting a considerably less expensive one for ELD of FMA but then a) I pictured her couch b) pictured her dogs sleeping on the pillow c) pictured her dogs eating the pillow and decided she didn't need a 30$ pillow.

I had wanted to play pachinko but by the time I was done shopping (hey did I mention I bought sweet corn pocky? It really tastes like salty buttered corn) it was time to see Steven Blum. He was fantastic, very funny and very nice to the fans. By the time his talk was over (I'm not into VAs so I didn't wait in the line and pay for an autograph) it was well after 5 and by now I could feel my sugar deranging.

I headed out back to the mall. I kicked Macy's off the list as I can always go there. I hit my favorite Mexican place down there and got the volcanic rock pot again (and that stuff was SO hot, it was STILL hot when I got home two hours later with the left overs). I hit the Halloween shop and couldn't find ram's horns so I got a face decal and dragonfly wings for the Halloween party this coming weekend. I had a 25% off everything at Michaels and picked up shit I didn't need but looked pretty.

I also hit Booksamillion and got an Enterprise puzzle for Mom for the holidays and some manga. THey had two that I knew had to be Yaoi, Ten Count and Midnight Stranger by a new-to-me publisher SubLime Manga. They looked interesting but a) BAM is cheaper online so... and b) Yaoi is NOT my favorite because too many of them are dub-con/non con or fall in love with my rapist tropes. Anyone know anything about these?


And I put my pumpkin latte on the console so I wouldn't spill it getting into the car (as this mall's parking spots are TIGHT). i get in and knock it over and it doesn't just spill into the back wheel well, no it explodes all over the back seat. Well hell.

I do love driving home up R 2 in the dark. So spooky.

And about my cosplay, I had these things in mind a) I hate that blond wig b) I found my black pantyhose in the back of my sock drawer and I wish I knew where the hell I got them all those years ago because if all panty hose fit this well and were so light weight and unnoticable while wearing I wouldn't have loathed hose so much c) my skirt is so big it kept twisting around me. Hmmm have I lost weight?

And since I know I'm too tired to put this anywhere else in their actual documents, other writing things came to me on the drive. The manga librarian was praising The Ancient Magus's Bride (I love it) and how Chise is so broken. I thought that's exactly what I'm trying to get across with Luc. He offered up that's why he likes helping Amelia. It makes him feel less like a broken toy kicked to the back of the closet, unwanted and unloved. I NEED to work that into the story. Also it occured to me I should have left the Treasure Island scene and made this set around 2010 or something because Luc now has to be older than he is in the story because otherwise he's had been a tween when Hurricane Katrina hit. And the con love story tells me it could also be called ConQuest or ConQuered Yes they want to be cheesy as all hell.

Steven Blum talked about being part of hip-hop artist's Logic's Sci-Fi themed experimental album which you can find here (not really my thing)



Adopt one today! Adopt one today! Adopt one today! Adopt one today! Adopt one today! Adopt one today! Adopt one today!

Date: 2016-10-02 12:38 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] kiramaru7.livejournal.com
It sounds like you had fun despite exploding lattes. XD

It should be easy to adjust Luc's age, ne? And there's nothing wrong with him coming across as younger than he is. We've all heard about "boyish good looks" & "boyish charm" so that should work with what you have. Plus I would think given Arrigo's age, he would seem rather young too.

Date: 2016-10-02 06:08 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] cornerofmadness.livejournal.com
I did have fun, coffee aside

It will be easy (as I'm not sure it's ever mentioned). It might add an edge to Luc, thinking hell I'm nearly 30 and Amelia's 9 year old reads better than I do. Luc definitely looks young. Poor Arrigo looks even younger.

Date: 2016-10-03 01:52 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] kiramaru7.livejournal.com
That's good, except for the coffee, which hopefully you'll eventually be able to laugh about.

That's good. I try not to mention ages, unless I have to. XD

Yeah, I think so too. Besides reading GoT, I've been watching it online (*is way ahead of my book*)& there's an older guy being taught how to read by a young girl, which is kinda cute. Unfortunately, too many characters to remember their names. XD I hope those scenes will appear in the books though. :D Funny enough, having seen certain scenes, helps me visualize them when reading the book, plus I also like how certain things were rearranged or changed, to make them 2 different entities.

Back on topic... XD I kinda like that Arrigo looks younger than his years. It adds to their relationship as well as Arrigo's character. Looking young, but having more than a lifetime's worth of experience. The wealth of knowledge he has... and they say girls find smart guys sexy. :D

Date: 2016-10-03 02:11 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] cornerofmadness.livejournal.com
if I get the stain out of the back seat and it doesnt' start smelling like rancid milk I'll be fine

there are too many characters in GoT I agree.

Arrigo was turned as a teenager so yeah he's been 18 for like 2000 years

Date: 2016-10-03 10:54 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] kiramaru7.livejournal.com
As long as you washed it as best you can, you should be fine.

*nods*

He's a very OLD eighteen. LOVE how it looks like Luc has a young boyfriend, when it's really Arrigo with the young boyfriend. :D

Date: 2016-10-04 12:20 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] cornerofmadness.livejournal.com
Didn't smell today so I think I'm good;

that's it in a nutshell

Date: 2016-10-04 12:42 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] kiramaru7.livejournal.com
Oh good! :D

*nods*

Date: 2016-10-02 01:13 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] evil-little-dog.livejournal.com
I don't think it'd be hard to retro-fit the novel, really; you'd just have to remind people of it every once in a while. Something about Obama being in office for two years now - maybe Tabuu (I can never remember how to spell her name) saying that at some point? You'd just have to make sure to do it early on to get the setting in there.

I'm glad you have a good time at the con and cosplaying around yesterday. Latte spill aside. Yeeesh.

Date: 2016-10-02 01:14 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] evil-little-dog.livejournal.com
Also - my good pillows go somewhere the dogs don't - i.e., the Church Pew, so...

Date: 2016-10-02 05:50 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] cornerofmadness.livejournal.com
good to know. The affordable pillow was the Amestris hippocampus thing. al's helmet which was nicer (though the Amestris one was on teal) was much more.

I feel bad. I KNOW how hard this is to do (she had to take down her web site as it's so time intensive to do the embroidery she's now 6 months behind on orders so didn't think it was fair) but still 50$ for a pillow? Then again that's one some of them are at TJ MAxx...

Date: 2016-10-02 11:37 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] evil-little-dog.livejournal.com
The good pillows I picked up with my couch added another $100 to my order. So...

Date: 2016-10-03 02:47 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] cornerofmadness.livejournal.com
yeah it's really silly how much they cost

Date: 2016-10-04 02:51 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] evil-little-dog.livejournal.com
One has a cotton cover over it to keep the dogs from leaning on it.

Date: 2016-10-06 01:15 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] evil-little-dog.livejournal.com
Rogue being overly fond of pillows and lying on them.

Date: 2016-10-06 01:20 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] cornerofmadness.livejournal.com
ahahahhaha kanda will lie on anything

Date: 2016-10-06 01:45 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] evil-little-dog.livejournal.com
That doesn't surprise me.

Mon has a bed pillow on her couch. We generally put it on the arm of the couch to keep Rogue from climbing on it. At one point, it was perfectly balanced and Rogue managed to get onto it and started to curl up -

- and fell off the arm with the pillow on top of her.

Such indignant looks we got for laughing at her.

Date: 2016-10-02 05:52 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] cornerofmadness.livejournal.com
it wouldn't be. I'm merely lamenting the fact that I had a great scene I threw out in the update. Sigh.

It might work better with Luc a little older. Could be funny if he's thinking he's older than Arrigo (who looks 18)

It was a nice time.

Date: 2016-10-02 11:36 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] evil-little-dog.livejournal.com
Ah, I see.

And yes, that could be an interesting twist, Luc thinking he's older. :D

Date: 2016-10-03 02:49 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] cornerofmadness.livejournal.com
I thought I might have already written that in.

btw once I rewrite ch 4 can I send it to you since it was SO boggled

Date: 2016-10-04 02:50 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] evil-little-dog.livejournal.com
Sure, I'll lookit again.

Date: 2016-10-04 03:18 am (UTC)

Profile

cornerofmadness: (Default)
cornerofmadness

March 2026

S M T W T F S
1 2 3 4 5 6 7
8 9 10 11 12 13 14
15 16 17 18 19 20 21
22 23 24 25 262728
293031    

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 27th, 2026 09:52 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios